Road map for the reveiw and development process of CAADP AND DSIP (2015/16-2019/20)

File Size398.73 KB
Create DateJuly 24, 2015

1.0 Background
The Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP) was endorsed by African Heads of States as part of the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD) in July 2003. Since 2003, 30 countries signed the CAADP pact, Rwanda being the first. Most of the countries signed after year 2008 and Uganda signed this pact in 2010.
In 2003 African Heads of state met in Mozambique and pledged to allocate 10% of their national budget to agriculture by 2008. However, out of the 30 countries, only 8 have managed to meet the Maputo target and these are Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea, Malawi, Mali, Niger and Senegal.
In Uganda for the last 2 decades, the average allocation to agriculture has been 4.1% which is less than half of the Maputo target.
The CAAPD focus is on improving and promoting agriculture across Africa with a vision for the restoration of agriculture growth, food security, and rural development. The CAAPD programme is premised on 4 pillars:
i. sustainable land and reliable water control systems
ii. private sector development, rural infrastructure, improved trade and market access
iii. increasing food supply and reducing hunger
iv. agricultural research and dissemination of agricultural technology